The Association of Small Bombs - Read Online

Karan Mahajan - The Association of Small Bombs pdf book

Last added books

Karan Mahajan  – The Association of Small Bombs pdf book

51aO-P7gR4L._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_[1]

Karan Mahajan  – The Association of Small Bombs pdf book

The Association of Small Bombs

Author : Karan Mahajan
Publisher : Viking
Release : March 22, 2016
Genre :  Literature & Fiction 

Book Review

 A New York Times Editors’ Choice •

“Wonderful. . . . Smart, devastating, unpredictable, and enviably adept in its handling of tragedy and its fallout. If you enjoy novels that happily disrupt traditional narratives—about grief, death, violence, politics—I suggest you go out and buy this one. Post haste.” —Fiona Maazel, The New York Times Book Review

“Brilliant. . . . Mr. Mahajan’s writing is acrid and bracing, tightly packed with dissonant imagery. . . . The Association of Small Bombs is not the first novel about the aftermath of a terrorist attack, but it is the finest I’ve read at capturing the seduction and force of the murderous, annihilating illogic that increasingly consumes the globe.” —Sam Sacks, The Wall Street Journal

“[A] beautifully written novel. . . . Ambitious. . . . Carries us deep into the human side of a tragedy.” —The Washington Post

“Karan Mahajan’s The Association of Small Bombs urgently depicts the toll of terrorism on victims and perpetrators.” —Vanity Fair

For readers of Mohsin Hamid, Dave Eggers, Arundhati Roy, and Teju Cole, The Association of Small Bombs is an expansive and deeply humane novel that is at once groundbreaking in its empathy, dazzling in its acuity, and ambitious in scope

When brothers Tushar and Nakul Khurana, two Delhi schoolboys, pick up their family’s television set at a repair shop with their friend Mansoor Ahmed one day in 1996, disaster strikes without warning. A bomb—one of the many “small” bombs that go off seemingly unheralded across the world—detonates in the Delhi marketplace, instantly claiming the lives of the Khurana boys, to the devastation of their parents. Mansoor survives, bearing the physical and psychological effects of the bomb. After a brief stint at university in America, Mansoor returns to Delhi, where his life becomes entangled with the mysterious and charismatic Ayub, a fearless young activist whose own allegiances and beliefs are more malleable than Mansoor could imagine. Woven among the story of the Khuranas and the Ahmeds is the gripping tale of Shockie, a Kashmiri bomb maker who has forsaken his own life for the independence of his homeland.

Karan Mahajan writes brilliantly about the effects of terrorism on victims and perpetrators, proving himself to be one of the most provocative and dynamic novelists of his generation.

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for The Association of Small Bombs

“Wonderful. . . . Smart, devastating, unpredictable, and enviably adept in its handling of tragedy and its fallout. If you enjoy novels that happily disrupt traditional narratives—about grief, death, violence, politics—I suggest you go out and buy this one. Post haste.”
—Fiona Maazel, The New York Times Book Review“Brilliant. . . . Mr. Mahajan’s writing is acrid and bracing, tightly packed with dissonant imagery. . . . The Association of Small Bombs is not the first novel about the aftermath of a terrorist attack, but it is the finest I’ve read at capturing the seduction and force of the murderous, annihilating illogic that increasingly consumes the globe.”
—Sam Sacks, The Wall Street Journal

“[A] beautifully written novel. . . . Ambitious. . . . Carries us deep into the human side of a tragedy. . . .”
The Washington Post

“Darkly incisive . . . timely. . . . In Mahajan’s riveting and intricate story, the aftershocks of small bombs are as inescapable as their explosions.”
Vice

“Karan Mahajan’s The Association of Small Bombs urgently depicts the toll of terrorism on victims and perpetrators.”
Vanity Fair

“Writing as brave as you will find it. . . . The novel represents a cautious step forward in contemporary literature’s negotiation with terror.”
—Jonathan Sturgeon, Flavorwire

“The architecture of the novel is brilliant in its literary exploration of the aftermath of small bombs. . . . Propulsive. . . . The dark humor keeps the novel lively rather than overdetermined. . . . Powerful, unsettling. . . . The Association of Small Bombs is a thing of loveliness—its structure and concept are a marvel.”
—The Los Angeles Review of Books

“A wise, searing, sculptural approach to the roots and aftermaths of terrorism and radicalization. . . . Mahajan has mastered a nonpareil 360-degree portrait of one of the most disturbing, least understood malaises of our time.”
The Millions

“A psychologically intimate and stylistically compelling examination of the ripple effects of small acts of terrorism. . . . In a post-9/11 world, this novel should be considered a must-read.”
The Huffington Post

“Beautiful and evocative . . . a compelling story about extremism and its effects.”
BookPage

“This one will hit you hard. . . . Powerful, breathtaking, and unforgettable, this book pulls out dynamic insight on the effects of terrorism on its victims.”
Bustle

“Besides having one of the most instantly memorable titles for a novel in recent memory, Karan Mahajan’s new novel explores the life of a young man in the aftermath of a horrific event that takes the life of two of his friends. With a story that crosses continents and addresses questions of nationalism, terrorism, and the effects of violence, this novel seems ready to engage with some of our era’s looming issues.”
Vol. 1 Brooklyn, “March 2016 Books Preview”

“Mahajan’s talent is in conveying the sense that the world is gray, not black-and-white, and he accomplishes this by weaving together the evolving motives and passions of his characters so intricately that in the end we see each as culpable, and human. In his searing story, lives (and life itself) are subjected to close inspection and at times discombobulation.”
Publishers Weekly

“In the virtuosic opening of Mahajan’s timely second novel, he writes, ‘a good bombing begins everywhere at once.’ This setup works well for the broad array of story lines connected to a 1996 detonation of a small but potent bomb in a humble Delhi marketplace. . . . The anchoring characters are Mansoor and Shockie, a Kashmiri bomb maker who refers to his deadly art as ‘making chocolate,’ even as he worries about his victims and his ill mother. Mahajan’s terrorists and social activists are never content to settle into one venue or mindset.”
Booklist

“[Mahajan is] strong at exploring the very long shockwaves of small-scale violence.”

Lesebook - Upload

Langue : English

Lesebook - Download

File size : 1 Mo
Format : EPUB

0 comments