The Antiques - Read Online

The Antiques by Kris D’Agostino pdf book

Last added books

The Antiques by Kris D’Agostino pdf book

The Antiques by Kris D’Agostino pdf book

The Antiques by Kris D’Agostino  pdf book

The Antiques

Author : Kris D’Agostino
Publisher : Scribner (January 10, 2017)
Genre : Literature & Fiction

Book Review

An irresistible, incisive, fast-paced comedic drama about a family who reunites after the death of its patriarch, just as a hurricane tears through town. For fans of Jonathan Tropper, Emma Straub, and Karen Joy Fowler.

On the night of a massive hurricane, three estranged siblings learn that their father is dying. For the first time in years, they convene at their childhood home in Upstate New York, where the storm has downed power lines, flooded houses, and destroyed the family’s antique store.

The Westfalls are no strangers to dysfunction. But never have their lives felt so out of control. Armie is living in their parents’ basement. In Manhattan, Josef, a sex-addicted techie, is struggling to repair his broken relationship with his daughters. Their sister, Charlie, who works in Hollywood as a publicist for a wayward young actress, just learned that her son has been expelled from preschool. Amid the storm, they come together to plan their father’s memorial service, only to learn his dying wish—they must sell his priceless Magritte painting. As their failures are laid bare, they discover that hope often lurks in the darkest of places. And so, too, can hilarity.

Complete with an irresistible plot and deeply flawed, affectionately rendered characters, Kris D’Agostino’s breakout novel charts the unexpected epiphanies that emerge in chaos. A rollicking tableau of life in all its messy complexity, The Antiquesis a heartbreaking, nimble, laugh-out-loud funny send-up of modern family life.

Editorial Reviews

Review

“D’Agostino’s sparklingly funny novel is about love, power, money and adult siblings find the beating heart of what matters most: one another.”—People

The Antiques is a literary hurricane of hilarity, heartbreak, and familial redemption.  Kris D’Agostino juggles a stolen model-rocket, a patriarchal funeral, a runaway movie actress, and a potentially priceless painting all the way to the novel’s very satisfying ending.  The Westfall family could be the Tenenbaums of Upstate New York.”–Nickolas Butler, internationally bestselling author of Shotgun Lovesongs and The Hearts of Men

“Kris D’Agostino presents a funhouse mirror in The Antiques, delivering a cast of characters at once utterly familiar and completely absurd. But the real magic here is the fact that these people are still so dear. D’Agostino elevates this novel from a funny story about a dysfunctional family to a bright examination of the American man and woman. The Antiques is witty, charming and delightful, but in critiquing the choices we make as moderns, it packs a firm punch.”–Lydia Netzer, author of Shine Shine Shine

“Kris D’Agostino’s The Antiques is about family and how — no, wait, it’s not one of those treacly, warmed-over novels about family. It’s witty and trenchant and dark and stylish, the black sheep of the family-novel genre, the one who’s not invited to Thanksgiving but crashes it anyway to the delight of the younger relatives and the horror of the elders.” — Teddy Wayne, author of Loner and The Love Song of Johnny Valentine

About the Author

Kris D’Agostino holds an MFA in Creative Writing from The New School. He is the author of The Antiques and The Sleepy Hollow Family Almanac. He lives in Brooklyn.

Lesebook - Upload

Langue : English

Lesebook - Download

File size : 1 Mo
Format : EPUB

You may like:

0 comments

  • Hello, guest