Glitter - Read Online

Glitter by Aprilynne Pike pdf book

Last added books

Glitter by Aprilynne Pike pdf book

Glitter by Aprilynne Pike pdf book

Glitter by Aprilynne Pike pdf book

Glitter

Author : Aprilynne Pike
Publisher : Random House Books for Young Readers (October 25, 2016)
Genre : Science Fiction & Fantasy

Book Review

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Aprilynne Pike comes a truly original new novel—Breaking Bad meets Marie Antoinette in a near-future world where the residents of Versailles live like it’s the eighteenth century and an almost-queen turns to drug dealing to save her own life.

Outside the palace of Versailles, it’s modern day. Inside, the people dress, eat, and act like it’s the eighteenth century—with the added bonus of technology to make court life lavish, privileged, and frivolous. The palace has every indulgence, but for one pretty young thing, it’s about to become a very beautiful prison.
When Danica witnesses an act of murder by the young king, her mother makes a cruel power play . . . blackmailing the king into making Dani his queen. When she turns eighteen, Dani will marry the most ruthless and dangerous man of the court. She has six months to escape her terrifying destiny. Six months to raise enough money to disappear into the real world beyond the palace gates.
Her ticket out? Glitter. A drug so powerful that a tiny pinch mixed into a pot of rouge or lip gloss can make the wearer hopelessly addicted. Addicted to a drug Dani can sell for more money than she ever dreamed.
But in Versailles, secrets are impossible to keep. And the most dangerous secret—falling for a drug dealer outside the palace walls—is one risk she has to take.

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up—In this original dystopian story, the 18th-century court of Versailles is brought to life amid a technologically advanced society where corporations have surpassed governments in wealth and power. The eccentric founder of the Sonoman-Versailles Corporation purchased the palace of Versailles from the French government and created a company-based kingdom that is inspired by the baroque era of the kings Louis. Within this strange corporate kingdom is the naive Danica. She is the hapless teenage daughter of a family who live in the palace as members of the court. Danica’s life is thrown into turmoil when her power-hungry mother forces her into an engagement with the abusive and ruthless king. In order to escape and change her identity, Danica must somehow raise an exorbitant amount of money in the six short months before her wedding day. In a desperate attempt to save herself, the protagonist turns to selling the extremely potent and highly addictive drug Glitter. Slowly, her well-laid plans unravel as she falls hopelessly in love with a drug dealer and her friends become her unknowing victims. This is a stunning, unique, and fast-paced read. While illicit drug use and sexual violence make this book better suited to mature readers, fans of dystopian tales will find it breathes new life into their favorite genre. VERDICT Give this one to readers who enjoyed Kiera Cass’s “The Selection” series or Ally Condie’s Matched, or anyone looking for a fresh dystopian novel.—Ellen Fitzgerald, White Oak Library District, Lockport, IL

Review

“I adored this genre-bending futuristic and super swoon-y romance featuring a strong anti-heroine to root for—fun, refreshing and unpredictable!” –#1 New York Times Bestselling Author, Melissa de la Cruz
“The Palace of Versailles gets a darkly twisted, modern day makeover that had me hooked from the heart-pounding opening scene. Glitter is a thoroughly inventive, genre-bending tale that delivers on every level!” –#1 New York Times Bestselling Author, Alyson Noël

“Aprilynne Pike’s gift is that each book she writes is utterly inventive. GLITTER is no exception. As always her characters are interesting, vivid, and dynamic and they play out their nail-biting scenes against a richly-imagined, lush backdrop. Her books are skillfully woven and a royal delight!” –Colleen Houck, New York Times bestselling author of the Tiger’s Curse series and Reawakened

“Beautifully detailed scenes serve as the foundation for Danica’s ethical quandaries and illuminate the fantastical world in which she lives.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Rich with absorbing detail, clever plotting, and complex characters…readers will thrill to this immersion into a world within a world that feels strangely possible, if not inevitable, in our own future.” — Bulletin, starred review

 

Lesebook - Upload

Langue : English

Lesebook - Download

File size : 4 Mo
Format : EPUB

You may like:

0 comments